The Real Mike Friesen

Some people ask me for interviews from time-to-time, or will send me questions that they want to know about me. Here are a few that I got this week:

 

What wouldn’t people expect me if they met me in person: I think people would be surprised with how sensitive, withdrawn, or emotional I can be. I have a tendency to withdraw from conversations to contemplate, absorb, or search for the meaning in the things that are unfolding. I am also very in tune with who people are. But, if I am not stressed out and comfortable with my environment, I am very care free. I am a notorious practical jokester. Also, even though I write a lot, I have terrible grammar.

 

What books am I currently reading:

On The Meaning of Sex- J. Budziszewski

Either/Or- Soren Kierkegaard

Spiritual Formation- Henri Nouwen

 

What Music Have I Been Listening To-

Metallica- …And Justice For All

Explosions In The Sky- All Of A Sudden I Miss Everyone

Jonsi- We Bought A Zoo Soundtrack

Stick To Your Guns- Diamond

The Swellers- Good For Me

 

Someone asked me because I am not married, who my celebrity crush was (this one made me chuckle):

I have a man crush on Will Ferrell and have been told like four times I am a more attractive version of Zack Galifianakis. But, after that, I really enjoy movies and interviews with Anna Kendrick and Amanda Seyfried. They both seem like quasi-nervous people, which is kind of endearing to me. I’m not sure why.

 

What pet peeves do I have:

I really can’t stand slang language. So, it really annoys me when people call me brah. Or, when girls call me dude. And, people who aren’t close to me call me Mikey or Michael. Most importantly, I get annoyed with people who call themselves cigar smokers when they smoke swisher sweets.

 

Lastly, someone asked me who I have found spiritual wisdom from:

I think because I am a 4 on the enneagram, I tend to gravitate to other fours, so I really like Thomas Merton and Soren Kierkegaard. The first theologian to make a big difference on my life was Greg Boyd, and then N.T Wright. And, I have found great solace in the works of Richard Rohr. Most importantly, I have a group of older people in my life who are spiritually guiding me. They are people I can reach out to for direction, comfort, prayer, and encouragement.

5 thoughts on “The Real Mike Friesen

  1. Becketmonk says:

    LOL….Mike, Enneagram #4 here also! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pat Pope says:

    Dude, thanks for sharing. It was really good getting to know a little bit about you, Mikey. :)

  3. thanks for sharing, i really enjoyed this personal info…

  4. NIcs Cahill says:

    Mike this post made me smile – because still we know little of the real Mike!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 275 other followers

