Too Legit too quit?

By now, hopefully you haven’t recognized my big mouth. But, my life doesn’t seem to go the way I want, sometimes I am okay with this, other times not really. I tend to cause stirs (see Obama blog 😉 ), and, often I am left wondering, was this because this was the right thing to do, or, is it because I want to put people in their place.

There is this movie called Hot Rod and the main character is a guy named Rod Kimble and he said “I used to be legit. I was too legit. I was too legit to quit. but now I’m not legit. I’m unlegit. And for that reason, I must quit.”

There is also an amazing theologian/philosopher named Peter Rollins, who beautifully demonstrated in a parable in his book called An Orthodox Heretic about a man who was put on trial for being a Christian. They pulled out his Bible which was highlighted through and through. They had countless religious books, poems and stories he had written. They managed to find his Church attendance and everything to convict him. When they announced the verdict they found him not guilty.  He was actually angry and asked why. The judge told him that the guy had painted pictures of a better world, he had perfect attendance but he was nothing more than an observer. They said they would convict him when he was ready to live out Jesus and die for the paintings and pictures he had created.

I run my big mouth, I paint big pictures, I write extravagant poems but would I get convicted? I think I’d be as innocent as most other people around me.

Rod Kimble gave up because he was no longer legit, only to come back and compete the biggest stunt of his life. He lived out his legitimacy. Am I legit? If I am, I’d be willing to go all out and risk everything to be convicted. I think Rod Kimble and Peter Rollins are onto something.

One thought on “Too Legit too quit?

  1. Krista Chapman says:

    You are a lover of Truth. You are radical for righteousness. The Fire of God is shut up in your bones, just like Jeremiah!!! God has AMAZING plans for you, don’t ever question that! You have a tremendous call on your life, God is going to use you mightily!!! Keep on seeking, keep on knocking, keep on pressing, you are well on your way! Please let me know if there is ever anything you would like me to pray for!

Leave a Reply

