Doubt & Ignorance

I’ve invited a scary person in my life. He challenges my every thing I do, everything I say and everything I believe. His name is Doubt. Doubt, also brings me incredible peace to me. Because even though he forces me to enter into places I don’t want to go, he forces me to enter into place I don’t want to go, and that seems to be beautiful. For it is the true artist, who doesn’t want to play the same role twice. It is the artist, who enters into scary territories, in order to master his art.

Doubt causes me pain because doubt reveals to me my insecurities. Doubt causes me to enter into my own suffering and reveal my frailty. But, doubt is becoming my best friend, because in my own frailty and insecurities, I am able to appreciate the beauty of others. Never have I appreciated children so much. Their smiles, their freedom, their energy is no longer seen as a nuisance but as a blessing.  Doubt is no longer as a friend that confines me, but, gives me the utmost freedom to explore the depths of my soul. Doubt reveals to me darkness, my weakness and pain, and moves me into a place of beauty.

 

My friend Doubt has a friend named ignorance. Ignorance is “perfect”. Ignorance has it all together. Ignorance believes all the “right things”. Ignorance, has no expanse because he perceives that he has already arrived. He tries to get my friend Doubt, to conform, so that Doubt can “arrive”. What Ignorance doesn’t know though, is that he lives in great fear. And, fear is void of love. Ignorance is alone, and, even though Doubt suffers in uncertainty, the expanse in his being has given him a great capacity for love. For he wants to know what it truly means to be alive.

 

If life is our goal, maybe, we should be less certain and more open.

5 thoughts on “Doubt & Ignorance

  1. Wilde says:

    But if to simply know Christ is our goal, maybe we should be more certain and less careless about the truth God has revealed to us in and through His Son. To know Christ is to know life.

    -Here is a man of unwavering faith… He knew God for who He was and he held fast, unwavering, to those truths and so it was credited to him as righteousness…
    Romans 4:18-25
    18In hope against hope he believed, so that he might become a father of many nations according to that which had been spoken, “SO SHALL YOUR DESCENDANTS BE.”
    19Without becoming weak in faith he contemplated his own body, now as good as dead since he was about a hundred years old, and the deadness of Sarah’s womb;
    20yet, with respect to the promise of God, he did not waver in unbelief but grew strong in faith, giving glory to God,
    21and being fully assured that what God had promised, He was able also to perform.
    22Therefore IT WAS ALSO CREDITED TO HIM AS RIGHTEOUSNESS.
    23Now not for his sake only was it written that it was credited to him,
    24but for our sake also, to whom it will be credited, as those who believe in Him who raised Jesus our Lord from the dead,
    25He who was delivered over because of our transgressions, and was raised because of our justification.

    • mfries05 says:

      Hey Matt,
      Thanks for your response. Here are some thoughts:

      1. Do I have certainty from reading the Bible? In which case I bring my own struggles, pain, suffering, life experience, because the way I interpret something is different from the way, you possibly might. So, at that point, only one person has absolute truth in the world.
      2. If I base it around Theology, whose theology do I trust? Contemporary Theology? Traditional theology? First Century Theology? And, if theology is made my man, isn’t theology within itself flawed? Because, if something is interpreted by man, its already flawed. Isn’t this putting God in a box, by defining him to a certain groups theology?
      3. If the Bible is truth, and, I believe it is. Then shouldn’t our statement of faith be the Bible? I agree with most statements of faith by Evangelical theology. That being said, not doubting what they say, how can I say that I am actually loving God with my mind. If I stand firm, and never question even what is agreed upon as predominantly true, then in what way is that loving God with my mind?

      Thanks Matt,
      Mike

      • Wilde says:

        1. Well if you can’t have certainty from reading the Bible then we are a bunch of foolish folks, for we, the body of Christ, are banking our entire lives on the truths of what has been revealed to us through scripture. If you can’t have certainty from reading the Bible, then we can’t have certainty that Christ died for our sins and rose again the 3rd day. Then our hope is no longer firm, faith becomes no faith at all. How can we have faith in what we are not sure of?

        Hebrews 11:1 Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.

        If everything is up to interpretation then how do we know what the gospel truly is? One person interprets the gospel to mean one thing and the other interprets it to mean another. Then you will have 2 men walking around preaching 2 completely different gospels. And if they interpret Gal 1:8 the same, they will be sitting there thinking that each other are accursed!

        Gal 1:8
        But even if we, or an angel from heaven, should preach to you a gospel contrary to what we have preached to you, he is to be accursed!

        It all turns into a mushy mess. The body of believers is not unified, but rather divided. Divided NOT by what is true and what is not , but rather by human opinion.

        Not only that but scripture says that ALL scripture is profitable for correction (2 Tim 3:16). If scripture was up for interpretation then actually it would have absolutely NO use for correction because how would you know who was correct? How would anyone grow in their knowledge of God?

        There are 5 basic principals when interpreting scripture.
        1. Context
        2. Context
        3. Context
        4. Scripture can’t mean what it never meant
        5. Narrative is not normative

        We need to determine what the text is actually saying and the ideas that the author was trying to get across. For therein lies the correct interpretation.

        2.This is where theology comes in. Your own personal theology is the result of how you go about interpreting scripture. There is good theology and bad theology. Bad theology is a set of beliefs that in no way match up to the original ideas that were written down in scripture. Good theology closely matches those ideas, often from following those 5 principals listed above.

        There are, obviously, those scriptures that are harder to understand. These are often the places where you will find differences in theology. But usually these doctrines are not doctrines that affect your salvation so its not a huge deal. The doctrine of the gospel, on the other hand, directly affects our salvation and is of the utmost importance to understand correctly. There are still differences in gospel doctrines although they are much less common due to the clarity of the gospel throughout scripture.

        3. We are not to stand firm on “what is agreed upon as predominantly true” but rather what you, yourself, believe scripture teaches to the best of your ability, taking into account the principals of interpreting scripture in view of Christ as being the center of all that is written there. That is one of the great things about being a follower of Christ. We don’t have to just believe what the majority says. We can look for ourselves in scripture to see if what they are saying is actually true.

        And the whole idea of reproof and correction is that if one of our brothers comes to a faulty conclusion and thereby maligns the truth, then we are to bring about correction in love, teaching and explaining the truth in clarity that they might grow in their knowledge of God.

Leave a Reply

