Holes

Ever loved and lost?

One of the most influential people in my life was my grandma. Not a day goes by, and I wish she was still here. She made the world a better place. She made me better. She made everyone around her better. I knew I loved her, because I met her. She left a giant hole in my heart.

One of the most influential people in my life was my last serious girlfriend. When things ended, it hurt a lot. Obviously, time heals thing. Anger leaves, frustration end, betrayal is covered by forgiveness. And, hope heals this hole. I loved her, because I met her.

I would like to think the most influential person in my life is God. There are times in my life where I feel distant from God. I love God, I would like to think I would do anything for him. When I feel apart from God, the hole in my heart is more enormous than any other hole I have ever encountered. I know I love God, because, I have encountered the resurrected Christ.

People often talk about a God shaped hole. But, could it be that the hole only exists because we, who have encountered the resurrected Christ, recognize our need for him.

A thought I am wrestling with is, how can we tell a broken world they need Christ when they haven’t met him? If we cannot fall in love with something we haven’t met, then can there be a hole there to fill? Could it be, that for those of us who have met the resurrected Christ, the hole is actually created by him? For those of us who engage with him, we understand our need for him. But, for those of us who don’t know him, how can we see our need for something we have never met? How do we reveal to a broken world their need for Jesus?

This thought was raised by Peter Rollins.

Leave a Reply

