Respect your process

So a long time ago, I felt ashamed to be who I was. And, I ate.

I became angry, when I couldn’t interpret or express what was on the inside. So, I ate.

I had friends, I had family, I had girlfriends…. But, none of them knew who I was. I ate, because, this object accepted me as I was.

So, I met Jesus. I felt understood, I felt loved, I felt hope. And, I lost most of the weight of the shame, the anger, the loneliness (And, the real weight did too.)

But, beneath the surface some of this still exist.

I know that eventually this weight will come off. And, every pound that comes off is grace. Because, I know from hear on out, every pound that falls off is a pound, that I’ve been able to let go.

Sometimes, things don’t happen as we want them too. We aren’t able to complete goals as fast as we’d like too. We try and rush up the process, and, when we fail, we struggle with guilt, anger, or frustration, and, we give up.

Respect your process. Today you’re not the person you want to be. Today, you don’t look the way you want to. Today, you aren’t as talented as you’d hope to be. But, when you respect your process, you will become that.

If we try to outrun our hearts, and, the questions they are constantly asking us, we will never be able to sustain our outcomes. We must accept the painful road ahead of us, because, it leads to dry ground.

What must you learn to accept? What do you want to become? How can you respect your process today?

Hebrews 5:8Although he was a son, he learned obedience from what he suffered 9and, once made perfect, he became the source of eternal salvation for all who obey him

Leave a Reply

