Lusting After God

I can’t imagine what it must be like to be a woman. If I were a woman, I’d probably be like Tyler Perry’s Madea character (in personality & appearance). I’d probably be the pissed off old white woman, who punishes any wrong doer for any stupid choice they make.

I admire women for their ability to endure. Especially, when so much of a woman’s worth to her society is defined by her ability to be a sexual icon. If I were a girl, I’d be leaving men who treated me like this with some sore manhood. I don’t know how I’d handle being treated like an object all the time.

I think, in the same way, if I were God (lets thank him, I am not), I’d want to leave some people with some sore manhood(myself including).

Like the way, many of us treat women, we treat God in the same way. We treat God like an object. An object to prove our point, to dismantle our guilt, to heighten our pedestal. As well, we treat God, as a mere idea. We treat him as an object. We want to speak of him, solely, as the subject we have pinned down. We have reasoned God into our own boxes, into our neat, tidy, heads.

Peter Rollins, in his book, How (not) to Speak of God, talks about an example  of how the Jews were treated like objects. He speaks about how the Nazi’s held all the information of the Jews (Living situation, family, appearance), but, it is those who love those individuals who truly know them. Anyone, who knows anyone, has moved from treating someone or something as an object and moved into a subject.Rollins continues to talk about how Human Discourse will speak about God, rather than, letting God speak into our human discourse.

Any man, who has experienced the love of a woman, knows the transforming power that has. It is only, after we have begun to explore them as subjects, rather than objects, do we begin to be transformed. I think, with God, it is the same way.

So, like the way we have lusted after women, here is to a liberation from lusting after God.

4 thoughts on “Lusting After God

  1. Tof Lee says:

    Mike, thanks for the great post. I love your writing style. Every father, son, and brother should read this post.

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Michael Friesen, Tof Lee. Tof Lee said: Every man should read this blog post: "Lusting after God" http://bit.ly/8lNCiK […]

  3. This brings me to an idea:…

  4. I cannot believe this will work!

Leave a Reply

