The Good News According to Glee

For the past week and a half or so, I’ve been watching a very popular show on TV called Glee. I must say, the older I get, the less appealing Television becomes to me, unless it holds some childhood sentiment, or your name is Stephen Colbert. But, as I began watching this show, it hooked me in with quite fervor. I fell in love with the characters, as their warmth, insecurities and ego’s, spoke to my own experiences within myself and my interactions with other people in my High School education.

Throughout the show, we see all types of people enter the story, Jocks, Preps, Drama Queens, Plastics, Homosexuals, Nerds, Disabled, African-American, Asian and the classic good-looking High School Spanish Teacher who is the Coordinator of the Glee Club. What’s fascinating to me,which is not re-creating my own High School experience, where hostility ran through the systemic veins of the school (although there is that), is that these teenagers are learning to reconcile their differences in spite of their social norms.  So, they participate in Bake Sales, they learn what it means to be in a wheelchair and they care for each other in all of their crisis.

An especially heart warming moment, is when the homosexual in the group, Kurt, who had recently come out of the closet, is auditioning for the numbers solo (pretty remarkable he can sing that high F). During this time, however, Kurt’s father, who owns his own business, received a hostile phone call from someone calling his son an explicative name for a Homosexual. When Kurt learns of this, he suffered upon his father’s behalf, and, throws the audition, the audition of his dreams, so that his father may not continue to endure or experience a heightening hostility for his homosexuality. This type of self-sacrifice, whatever your views on Homosexuality are, is remarkable. For this type of love, is a similar type of love that Christ endured for us on Calvary.

While on the exterior, Glee, participates in a pop cultural phenomenon, it seems to represent so much more than that. It presents us, with an eye-opening account on what it means to live amongst each other, in spite of our differences and diversity, in a reconciled and loving manner.

I’d recommend, you spend an hour each week to watch it.

Leave a Reply

