Don’t ask if you don’t mean it.

I have problems with boundaries. Sometimes, I don’t know when to say yes or no. I don’t like to commit to much because I want to be fully committed to the things I do say yes to. One of the boundaries is telling people the truth when they ask how I really am. For the past few months, I have been in and out of dark days and great revelation. But, when people ask me how I am, its the hardest question for me to answer. I hate lying. I lived lies for years, and, the thought of not telling the truth causes agony to me.

How are you doing?

A. I’m good. How are you?

B. How about them Twins? Winning the Central don’t ya know?

C. Screw off, you don’t really care.

D. I’m struggling with a deep existential part of me, that has manifested itself in the ugliest forms of my humanity.

How are you? Don’t ask it, if you don’t mean it.

Leave a Reply

