Matt Damon & Lady Gaga

Lady Gaga has a fantastic song (terrible) called Bad Romance. Anyone, who is anyone, who has an ear, has listened to the radio or watched VH1 in the past 4 months knows this song.

Besides its obvious catchy beat, choreography and fashion, I am far more intrigued by the message.

Now, obviously the song was meant in the context of a romantic relationship, so the direct application, while something I desire, and, something I would like to seek, when I am in less of a funk, I wonder what her lyrics would imply for all relationships:

I want your ugly
I want your disease
I want your everything

I want you drama

I want your love and
I want your revenge

I want your horror
I want your design

I want your psycho

What if we had someone  in our lives that said they wanted our ugly, our disease, they want our drama, our revenge, our horror, our design and our psycho, all in the name of love?

I heard Donald Miller recently say that we are as sick as our secrets. Now, recently in my life, I am discovering some of the nastiest secrets in my heart that I have ever encountered. The agony in this is something that words can’t describe. Some, unfortunate people, get to listen and watch me, look like a zombie on a regular basis from sleepless nights. They hear my groans and see my tears, as I fall apart in a catastrophic way.

What I really need in my life is a Bad Romance. Someone, who will sit with me in the dark, not say anything, and, simply pat or stroke my back. I need someone who hears my story, and, will still hug and embrace me. Because, these days, I feel dysfunctional, broken, and out-of-place.

What I feel like can be best described in these movie clips by the movie Good Will Hunting. I feel like Matt Damon’s character.

My bad Romance looks like Shawn (Robin Williams Character)

We all  need Bad Romance’s. Where people will endure out shame, our brokenness, our depravity. We need someone to affirm, encourage and bless our humanity.

Because we are all broken, depraved and ashamed. That’s okay. It’s okay to be who we are, we just need Bad Romance’s in our lives.

Leave a Reply

