Stepford Wives

Young wives are the leading asset of corporate power.  They want the suburbs, a house, a settled life, and respectability.  They want society to see that they have exchanged themselves for something of value.  ~Ralph Nader

I have two disgusts in this world. 1. Consumerism 2. People defining my existence. Because, every where I go, I am reminded of a world that had done both of these for me, for themselves, for the world around me. I turn on the news, and, the politician is telling me to buy into his policies. I see the advertisement, telling me that I am not enough because I am not buying the right clothes, having enough sex, or, drinking the right alcoholic beverage. I go to churches or read books and am told to buy into their doctrine or theology, or correct form of social behaviors. The last, is by far the one that grinds my gears the most.

My freshman year of college, I remember hearing about this unwritten rule at my school, ring before spring, or your money back. To this day, this still makes me laugh. Even more so, it makes me sad. I have memories of girls telling me that they were there to get married and have kids as soon as possible.

There was this woman that Jesus met. She had multiple husbands and wasn’t with one. Supposedly, she was publicly scorned for being an adulterer. Jesus showed her compassion and the truth of her worth and of who he was. This revelation, caused her to bring the good news to her community, an act that was not tolerated because she was a woman. This community, received the message and was also set free.

I wonder how many of these girls I went to college had been shown this radical Jesus. This Jesus that radically liberated her not only from the shame of her situation, but, from the social dynamic she was in. Is being a Stepford Wife all you’re worth? Do you have desires beyond pleasing your husband? Do you have a truth that the world needs to hear? Do you offer something greater because this truth has set you free, and, only you can deliver it because you are the only you?

Feminism has been one of the greatest things to happen to the Church. Not because, hating men is great (though most feminists I have met don’t hate men), but, because this is a social reaction to fear. One of the greatest oppositions of love is fear. Fear promotes control and power, the very thing Jesus came to give back to the oppressed.

Stepford Wives, I am calling you out. Approach your husbands without fear. If he is controlling you and maintains power over you, he does not love you. Single women, you are your own person. If you cannot be appreciated or loved for who you are, then he doesn’t deserve you. If you want to be a mother, then be a mother, but, that’s not your sole worth, and, that’s not all you are worth. If you want to be a CEO, a teacher, a doctor, then be the best damn person that you can be. There is a truth, and, desire on your heart that this world needs. Don’t be limited by the oppressive consumerist fear based structure we have created for you. You deserve to be loved and committed to because of who you are, not, because of what you are told you are supposed to be.

2 thoughts on “Stepford Wives

  1. Jennifer says:

    amen! preach it, brother! 🙂

  2. Wikia…

    Wika linked to this site…

Leave a Reply

