All that is grace

In normal life we hardly realize how much more we receive than we give; life can be rich only with such realization.- Dietrich Bonhoeffer

When we can accept that God is beauty, and, that God is constantly speaking, we begin uncovering miraculous grace. Every breath we take becomes a gift. The wonderful taste of foods becomes a gift. The snow, the rain, the sunshine, the color of the sky, the smell of fresh-cut grass becomes a gift. The smile of a child, the wave of a passing human becomes a gift. We become aware of the love, the grace, the hope that is present. The wisdom of suffering, the freedom from false identifications of ourselves and God in God becomes grace, even though it doesn’t seem to be true at the time.

“God Himself taught us to meet one another as God has met us in Christ.”- Dietrich Bonhoeffer

Yesterday I celebrated my 24th birthday (for the first time in my life, I felt it too). Throughout, the whole thing I was around people. I spent time with my mom, my friend Steve and the people at Launch Ministries where I am glad to serve and be apart of. Slowly, these words of Bonhoeffer have become true for me. For Bonhoeffer, it seems, and, it seems to me, when we meet with each other, we ought to be meeting with God. I think this is why it’s so important that we recognize that everyone is made of God’s image. They deserve the love and dignity that that truth operates in, but, it also is an offering of grace to us that every has the potential to meet the living God. Things like struggle, suffering and brokenness were not meant to be dealt with alone, but, in the presence of others. This is the important thing about incarnation. It allows the voice and love of another person to be that of God, for us. The Gift of Community, is a blessing for each other, for me and for the other person. It is worship for and to God.

“There is meaning in every journey that is unknown to the traveler.”-Dietrich Bonhoeffer

We walk many roads don’t we? Its seems like life is an endless path and struggle of three steps forward, two steps back. It’s easy to stay within our tradition of faith, tradition of our family and tradition of our community. I think there are many narrow roads to the narrow road. Meaning, I think God is the road, but, there are so many ways to God. I grew up Evangelical, late in High School and early in College, I really hated that I was Evangelical. I know so many Catholics, who grew up Catholic, and, now hate Catholicism. One thing I know about God, is that he will not waste anything we give him. God wants to renew all things, he wants to use all bad things for good. So, in life we will find ourselves against our traditions of faith, family and community and God will not waste it. And, while we may be called to a new journey or tradition, God will not waste the old one. And, as we are excited, or even anxious about the new journey, God will not waste it, even if it becomes filled with deep wounds. There is a wisdom to being able to receive all, and, use all. All that has been done to us, will be used, even if it wasn’t all good. All that has been done for us, will be used. There is grace, for our sins, for our journey. To not only heal us from the wounds we accumulate, but, also to bless us for others.

Hope this reaches you well today.

 

Leave a Reply

