The simple way

One of my best friend makes fun of me because I read books that will make statements like: What are the juxtaposed implications of the phenomenological and ontological states of the eschaton? Translated simply, What are the implications of being and experience existing side by side in our end destiny?

I like to read brilliant theologians and philosophers, but, I know at the end of the day, God exists for the common person. My experiences of God are often not found in brilliant theological statements.

My experience of God is found in experiencing Christ weep with me in my absolute despair and brokenness.

My experience of God is found in those subtle moments of peace and happiness through out the day.

My experience of God is found when I hold onto hope after being absolutely torn apart by a fellow brother or sister in Christ.

My experience of God is found when I have very little money and can’t do all the things that I want, but realizing that what I have is enough.

My experience of God is found when I realize how much God likes me. Not just loves me.

My experience of God is found often in silence, a beautiful film, a great song, the smile of a child or a mentally handicapped person, the color of the sky.

My understanding of the Gospel is like this: God loves me so much, he was willing to die for me because he can’t stand living without me. He wants me to be and create unity and peace with myself, the world, and him.

And, for every day that I read Moltmann, Barth, Bonhoeffer, Kierkegaard, Augustine, and Aquinas, it is the loving embrace of the warmth I feel in prayer and community that keeps me grounded.

“My deepest awareness of myself is that I am deeply loved by Jesus Christ and I have done nothing to earn it or deserve it.”-Brennan Manning

 

3 thoughts on “The simple way

  1. Sarah says:

    Good reminders. Good words. I especially like “My experience of God is found often in silence, a beautiful film, a great song, the smile of a child or a mentally handicapped person, the color of the sky.” Thanks for sharing!

  2. I think that with all the emphasis on Biblical scholarship we can begin to think God is found in wisdom and intellect, and while that is of course true, God is equally found in the down and lowly. Similarly God is not just in the moments of pure joy but as you say, he is with you in moments of despair.

  3. Betsy Clark says:

    Beautifully said! God constantly amazes me, in that; He created this magnificent universe, yet He desires to have intimate, personal relationship with me! It is mind-blowing to think about!
    It’s wonderful to read what great minds think as well, but sweetest when we have those encounters with Him in our every day. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

