Sabbath

Last May, I had an absolute meltdown. I was stressed, burned out, exhausted, and, loss all sense of creativity. I was not happy with most of my relationships, I was not happy with any vocation or service I was involved in, I was not happy with what I was producing, because, all of this reflected this stressed, burned out, exhausted and lack of creative energy that I was feeling.  A friend of mine convinced me to take more seriously the Sabbath. I took the next week off from work, and, planned on doing nothing. No work, no school, no writing, no reading….. It was miserable.

I have found we are creatures of busyness, production and without silence. Everywhere we go, we have noise flowing, from our iPods, cd players, radios, TV’s, conversations with our friends. Every day we have things we need to finish. Work, homework, errands, activities, the to do list never ends. I saw how exhausted I was, but, how addicted to these things I was, I think we are systemically hardwired to participate in this though, so cutting down has been a very hard process. Sabbath, something that God has given us to rest, becomes very hard. Nonetheless, even though I still fail at it, I want to share with you some of the things I have learned about Sabbath since May.

-Sabbath is commanded.

– When I treat Sabbath as a law, its worthless. Sabbath doesn’t have to be treated as one particular day, or a specific time. Sabbath, can be any day, and, even minimally every day.

-Sabbath, when done right, gives me the energy I need for the 6 days that will follow.

– Every week, I acquire new wounds and brokenness, or, I leave old ones undealt with. Sabbath gives me the time to heal from the following week, from the hurtful comments I hear, to find rest and freedom from lies I hear and possibly believe, it’s a time to weep and release from all of the pain I see others going through.

– Sabbath kills my need to produce and just be. Sabbath kills the product god Apple (thank God). Sabbath, is the day where I am able to be loved for me. Not for what I give to others, my people pleasing tendencies. It’s the day where I can rest and be loved and accepted as I am.

– Sabbath is a time where I turn off everything and participate in silence. I fight my restless mind, and, my constant thoughts, and, learn to submit to the releasing of all of the compulsive things battling inside of me. In this we often find much peace.

– Sabbath has taught me that I can’t do everything I love, even for those that I do love. I know that when people love me, they also might demand more of me, and, I can’t give them everything they want. I also, can’t work myself to death doing all of the things I love because I need to gather the energy to do that the other days of the week. I know that when I am able to say no to these things, my yes, has much more weight and validation.

Sabbath gives me time to rest, have fun, and, be in peace. Days of Sabbath will often include-

A good nights sleep, and, a nap.

Eating food that I really enjoy eating (I love eating Q’doba and Subway).

Sometimes, smoking a cigar.

Time to play video games.

Going for a walk or a jog, to observe creation.

Lots of Diet Coke.

 

What brings you rest?

Do you participate in Sabbath?

Do you have anything else to add to what Sabbath gives us?

 

10 thoughts on “Sabbath

  1. like most people I could be better and I do enjoy my time off from obligations, though I wonder what I could cut out to Sabbath-ize myself even more. Maybe blogging actually…

    I loved hearing what you’ve gained – it’s a fantastic list.

  2. I enjoyed your post, Mike… and can see parallels with my life. I need to observe sabbath more… and intend to. Thanks for sharing.

    Tx

  3. Courtney says:

    I take Thursday as my Sabbath, and now that it’s sunny in Seattle I’m giddy at the idea of being outside in nature with God. So excited!

  4. Carrie says:

    All things are types and shadows of our Lord. the sabbath is another. The sabbath is a person, Jesus Christ. He is our rest. That opened up a whole new view for me. Instead of doing the sabbath as a thing to do it is going to a person and learning to rest and trust in His strength. Love your post.

  5. Gebyldig says:

    Great post! Inspiring! I generally walk in nature and that is when I feel very close to Him. Just a simple walk outside, by myself. It’s very cleansing of my spirit and filling at the same time.

  6. Sarah says:

    I like that you emphasize Sabbath as a command, because I think we fool ourselves into thinking that we observe it properly.
    It’s easy to assume that busyness equals work, or that inactivity equals rest; however, there’s a finer art to working well and resting well (just watch what Jesus did on the Sabbath).
    Both working and resting should be productive in such a way that each enables the other in a sustained cycle (when I’m resting he fills me up, when I’m working he pours me out).

  7. I would like to show some appreciation to the writer just for bailing me out of this type of challenge. Because of looking out throughout the online world and finding ideas which were not productive, I thought my life was gone. Being alive without the approaches to the issues you have sorted out all through your entire website is a crucial case, and the ones which might have negatively damaged my entire career if I hadn’t noticed your website. Your personal understanding and kindness in playing with every aspect was precious. I don’t know what I would’ve done if I hadn’t come across such a point like this. I’m able to at this moment look ahead to my future. Thanks a lot very much for this impressive and result oriented help. I won’t be reluctant to refer your web blog to anybody who needs to have guidelines about this area.

Leave a Reply

