Unveiling our most famous Prophet…… Stephen Colbert

In the midst of Rob Bell’s Hellgate. We have found our Prophets (Or False Profits…. I spelled that correctly) gain in their pocket books and wallets greatly. Sadly, at Rob Bell’s expense. Some have bid him Farewell, yet others have stood by his side. Christianity is becoming as polarized as ever. In the midst of all the negativity, cynicism and lashing, I have turned to a new Prophet for daily spiritual nourishment. I turn the T.V on every night at 10:30, to get my injection of spiritual health (and, I’m not talking about Pat Robertson). This Prophet is none other than Stephen Colbert.

Every night, I tune into Comedy Central to laugh my recently sweaty butt off ( I work out, then I watch Colbert). I walk away every night with new witty one-liners, amazing facts about woman’s armpits, and, see how jaw droppingly fascinating Steve Martin is. Yet, in a very beautiful and subversive way, I turn off the TV, compelled by a man, who seems to be looking out for others interests. Get past the narcissistic character and his nerdy boyishly good looks, and, you’ll find a raised Catholic man, who in his congressional hearing explains, he wants to look out for “the least of these”, those who are powerless.

If the definition of a Prophet is someone who speaks the truth on behalf of God, then there is no more famous Prophet than Stephen Colbert. In a day when we living in a great duality, we find a man who every night, comically deconstructs our Church, Our Politics, Our Media and many other facets of our society. He introduced us to the word Truthiness, which means Truth from the gut. Truth that feels real. And, by definition, that is partially what Truth is. If Truth is something that sets us free, then we feel it. More importantly, nightly, we see Colbert defending the rights of those who don’t have any. Much like a Jewish carpenter I know.

More importantly than his being a practicing Catholic and a dedicated Sunday School Teacher (according to his Wikipedia), we find a man who seems to be dedicated to his family, who is pro-life (anti-abortion and anti-war), who brings forth the stupidity of society and religion and uses it for comedic justice. Every day in watching Colbert is like receiving a sarcastic injection of the foolishness of our world and the hope for what can be. Colbert brings forth the creative energy and passion, brings forth the worlds greatest minds and statuses to give us half an hour of entertainment and nuggets of wisdom. Few people are making as great of an impact on society right now as Stephen Colbert. I, for one, am grateful for this energy and truthiness that he brings forth every day. While, I do not describe myself as a political man (it’s the Anabaptist in me), I do find myself as a person who loves to laugh, and, a person who loves to point out what is best about our society and world. Very few things, to me, are shining brighter than that half an hour every day between 10:30 to 11.

“If this is going to be a Christian nation that doesn’t help the poor, either we’ve got to pretend that Jesus was just as selfish as we are, or we’ve got to acknowledge that he commanded us to love the poor and serve the needy without condition and then admit that we just don’t want to do it.”

~ Stephen Colbert

12 thoughts on “Unveiling our most famous Prophet…… Stephen Colbert

  1. JBen says:

    I have thought the exact same things. The quote at the end almost made me fall out of my chair when I first watched it.

  2. Jonathan says:

    Enjoyed this one. Loved the quote at the end. Reminded me of this one:

    “The Bible is very easy to understand. But we Christians are a bunch of scheming swindlers. We pretend to be unable to understand it because we know very well that the minute we understand, we are obliged to act accordingly… My God you will say, if I do that my whole life will be ruined. How would I ever get on in the world?”
    – Soren Kierkegaard

  3. Jon Huckins says:

    Good reflection and well said, Mike. I replayed the last quote you mentioned a few times when I first heard it as it seemed to show something deeper than Stephen’s usual cynical humor. He indeed is one of the most entertaining and thought provoking characters in today’s media.

    • mfries05 says:

      He sure is, isn’t he? That quote is very powerful I think. The video for it, is a super powerful cynical build up to that moment. It was amazing.

  4. Aaron Duncan says:

    Just checking out your blog because you started following me on twitter. Interesting thoughts. Colbert subversively speaks truth, and I enjoy a healthy dose of that. I’d like to challenge a couple of ideas you put forward, but that might not be the goal of the blog, and I’m just happy you want to love like Christ.

  5. that got me all riled up. Well done, and I don’t watch the show (nothing against it)

  6. Annette says:

    I like what you said and how you said it…
    Thanks,
    Annette

  7. There is enough to go around…just cannot run the world monetary system like an inoperable tumor. Miracles abound. It is time to heal.

Leave a Reply

