Great Easter Thoughts

Easter has become a singular event of a calendar rather than a lifestyle. It is in Easter where we can learn to die to ourselves and find new birth in the Holy Spirit, through the Resurrection. I have been deeply inspired over the last few years of this and I would like to leave you with some of these inspirations:

“When God becomes man in Jesus of Nazareth, he not only enters into the finitude of man, but in his death on the cross also enters into the situation of man’s godforsakenness. In Jesus he does not die the natural death of a finite being, but the violent death of the criminal on the cross, the death of complete abandonment by God. The suffering in the passion of Jesus is abandonment, rejection by God, his Father. God does not become a religion, so that man participates in him by corresponding religious thoughts and feelings. God does not become a law, so that man participates in him through obedience to a law. God does not become an ideal, so that man achieves community with him through constant striving. He humbles himself and takes upon himself the eternal death of the godless and the godforsaken, so that all the godless and the godforsaken can experience communion with him.” – Jurgen Moltmann

“Jesus’s resurrection is the beginning of God’s new project not to snatch people away from earth to heaven but to colonize earth with the life of heaven. That, after all, is what the Lord’s Prayer is about.” -N.T Wright

“Because salvation is by grace through faith, I believe that among the countless number of people standing in front of the throne and in front of the Lamb, dressed in white robes and holding palms in their hands (see Revelation 7:9), I shall see the prostitute from the Kit-Kat Ranch in Carson City, Nevada, who tearfully told me that she could find no other employment to support her two-year-old son. I shall see the woman who had an abortion and is haunted by guilt and remorse but did the best she could faced with grueling alternatives; the businessman besieged with debt who sold his integrity in a series of desperate transactions; the insecure clergyman addicted to being liked, who never challenged his people from the pulpit and longed for unconditional love; the sexually abused teen molested by his father and now selling his body on the street, who, as he falls asleep each night after his last ‘trick’, whispers the name of the unknown God he learned about in Sunday school.

‘But how?’ we ask.

Then the voice says, ‘They have washed their robes and have made them white in the blood of the Lamb.’

There they are. There *we* are – the multitude who so wanted to be faithful, who at times got defeated, soiled by life, and bested by trials, wearing the bloodied garments of life’s tribulations, but through it all clung to faith.

My friends, if this is not good news to you, you have never understood the gospel of grace.” -Brennan Manning

Christ Crucified is all of the hidden, private, tragic pain of history made public and given over to God. Christ Resurrected is all of that private, ungrieved, unnoted suffering received, loved, and transformed by an All-Caring God. How else could we believe in God at all? How else could we have any kind of cosmic hope? How else would we not die of sadness for what humanity has done to itself and to one another?

Jesus is the blueprint, the plan, the pattern revealed in one body and moment of history to reveal the meaning of all of history and each of our lives. The cross is the banner of what we do to one another and to God. The resurrection is the banner of what God does to us in return.

Easter is the announcement of God’s perfect and final victory.- Richard Rohr

“Jesus Christ lived in the midst of his enemies. At the end all his disciples deserted him. On the Cross he was utterly alone, surrounded by evildoers and mockers. For this cause he had come, to bring peace to the enemies of God. So the Christian, too, belongs not in the seclusion of a cloistered life but in the thick of foes. There is his commission, his work. ‘The kingdom is to be in the midst of your enemies. And he who will not suffer this does not want to be of the Kingdom of Christ; he wants to be among friends, to sit among roses and lilies, not with the bad people but the devout people. O you blasphemers and betrayers of Christ! If Christ had done what you are doing who would ever have been spared’- Dietrich Bonhoeffer

The Believers Cross is, like that of Jesus, the price of social nonconformity.- John Howard Yoder

“So too, since Christ has in principle defeated the fallen “gods” (principalities and powers) who have for ages inspired injustice, cruelty and apathy toward the weak, the poor the oppressed and the needy , the church can hardly carry out its role in manifesting, on earth and in heaven, Christ’s victory over these gods without taking up as a central part of its missions just these causes. We can, in truth, no more bifurcate social concerns and individual salvation than we can bifurcate the cosmic and anthropocentric dimensions of Christ’s work on the cross.”- Greg Boyd

God proved His love on the Cross. When Christ hung, and bled, and died, it was God saying to the world, “I love you.” -Billy Graham

“suffering is nothing by itself. But suffering shared with the passion of Christ is a wonderful gift, the most beautiful gift, a token of love.” -Mother Teresa

Hope this finds you in Easter Contemplation- Comment other quotes or reflections.

3 thoughts on “Great Easter Thoughts

  1. Lem Usita says:

    Easter should be everyday.
    Great post Mike.

  2. Csaba Hurton says:

    Easter is everything I ever dreamt for.
    Thank you for sharing these quotations, it helped me see.

    Greetings from Hungary,
    Csaba

  3. I am glad to be a visitant of this perfect blog ! , appreciate it for this rare information! .

    I am glad that I discovered this weblog , precisely the right information that I was searching for! .

    Very interesting subject , regards for posting .

    You have noted very interesting details ! ps nice site.
    Very interesting info !Perfect just what I was searching for!

    I was examining some of your blog posts on this site and I conceive this website is rattling instructive! Continue posting .

    Really wonderful information can be found on weblog .

    I like this web blog very much, Its a very nice situation to read and find info .

    Very interesting points you have remarked, appreciate it for putting up.

    I like this web blog its a master peace ! Glad I noticed this on google .

    Wohh just what I was looking for, appreciate it for putting up.
    I always was interested in this subject and still am, appreciate it for putting up.

    Thankyou for all your efforts that you have put in this. very interesting info .
    I like this web site very much so much good info .

    Great post, I conceive blog owners should learn a lot from this web site its rattling user pleasant.

    so much great info on here, : D.

    Rattling nice layout and excellent articles , nothing else we want : D.

    Keep up the excellent piece of work, I read few content on this site and I think that your site is rattling interesting and has got lots of great information.

    Some genuinely wonderful information, Sword lily I found this.

    I rattling pleased to find this internet site on bing, just what I was searching for : D also saved to bookmarks .

    Some truly interesting points you have written.Helped me a lot, just what I was searching for : D.

    This internet site is my inspiration , real good style and design and perfect articles .

    Lovely just what I was looking for.Thanks to the author for taking his clock time on this one.

    I am glad to be one of the visitants on this great site (:, thanks for putting up.
    Thank you for sharing with us, I believe this website genuinely stands out : D.

    Very informative and fantastic structure of articles , now that’s user friendly (:.

    I love your writing style genuinely loving this site.
    I am not real great with English but I come up this rattling easygoing to understand .

    I conceive this site has got very great composed subject material content .

    I visited a lot of website but I conceive this one has something special in it in it
    I like the efforts you have put in this, appreciate it for all the great content .

    I see something really special in this site.

    I went over this internet site and I conceive you have a lot of superb info , bookmarked (:.
    Some really nice and useful info on this web site , besides I believe the design has got fantastic features.
    Absolutely written subject matter, Really enjoyed looking through .
    I like this web blog so much, saved to my bookmarks .
    Some really nice stuff on this web site , I enjoy it.
    I got what you intend,bookmarked , very decent site.
    Perfect piece of work you have done, this internet site is really cool with excellent info .
    Real clear web site , thankyou for this post.
    I am constantly thought about this, appreciate it for putting up.
    fantastic post. Ne’er knew this, thankyou for letting me know.
    I besides think so , perfectly composed post! .
    Glad to be one of the visitors on this awesome website : D.
    Some genuinely interesting information, well written and broadly user pleasant.
    Some times its a pain in the ass to read what blog owners wrote but this website is very user genial ! .
    I believe other website proprietors should take this site as an example , very clean and great user pleasant design and style .
    Woh I enjoy your content , bookmarked ! .
    Thankyou for this marvellous post, I am glad I detected this web site on yahoo.
    Precisely what I was searching for, regards for putting up.
    As I website possessor I conceive the subject material here is rattling superb , thanks for your efforts.
    Respect to author , some wonderful selective information .
    I gotta favorite this web site it seems invaluable handy
    Only wanna input that you have a very decent web site , I like the design it actually stands out.
    I got what you intend, thanks for posting .Woh I am thankful to find this website through google.
    You have brought up a very good points , regards for the post.
    Merely wanna say that this is very beneficial , Thanks for taking your time to write this.
    Yay google is my world beater assisted me to find this outstanding site! .
    I think you have mentioned some very interesting details , thankyou for the post.
    Enjoyed looking at this, very good stuff, regards .
    I dugg some of you post as I cerebrated they were very beneficial extremely helpful
    As soon as I found this internet site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.
    Some truly choice posts on this internet site , saved to fav.
    I really enjoy reading through on this site, it has wonderful posts .
    Absolutely written subject material , thankyou for selective information .
    But a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw outstanding layout.
    You are my intake , I have few blogs and very sporadically run out from to post : (.
    I believe this internet site contains some real excellent info for everyone : D.
    Thanks for helping out, superb information.
    I really like your writing style, superb information, thankyou for posting : D.
    Some genuinely great content on this site, regards for contribution.
    Merely wanna remark on few general things, The website style is perfect, the subject material is real good : D.
    I like this post, enjoyed this one thankyou for putting up.
    Its wonderful as your other articles : D, thanks for putting up.
    I see something genuinely interesting about your web blog so I saved to fav.
    I really treasure your piece of work, Great post.
    I really like foregathering utile info, this post has got me even more info! .
    I like this site because so much utile stuff on here : D.
    You got a very excellent website, Gladiola I observed it through yahoo.
    Thanks for this post, I am a big fan of this web site would like to keep updated.
    Some genuinely marvelous work on behalf of the owner of this internet site , utterly outstanding articles .
    I’d perpetually want to be update on new articles on this site, saved to fav! .
    I love examining and I believe this website got some genuinely utilitarian stuff on it! .
    I am impressed with this website , very I am a fan .
    Great post, you have pointed out some superb points , I as well think this s a very wonderful website.
    Yeah bookmaking this wasn’t a speculative determination great post! .
    Sweet site, super style and design , rattling clean and apply genial .
    I don’t usually comment but I gotta state thanks for the post on this great one : D.
    Real good visual appeal on this internet site , I’d value it 10 10.
    Loving the info on this web site , you have done outstanding job on the posts .
    Would love to perpetually get updated outstanding web blog ! .
    I envy your piece of work, regards for all the useful content .

Leave a Reply

