How I Met Your Mother and Spiritual Transformation

A doppleganger is a tangible double of a living person in fiction, folklore, and popular culture that typically represents evil. In the vernacular, the word doppelgänger has come to refer (as in German “doppelt(e)”) to any double or look-alike of a person.

I can’t tell much of a difference between who I was yesterday and who I am today. But, I can tell differences in who I was six months ago, a year ago, five years ago. Five years ago, I was a cynical, angry, anxious and contempt filled of who I am today. Five years ago, I couldn’t recognize the person I am today. I couldn’t dream it.  What Ted Mosby understands, is that something happens unto us. We become the product of what and who we allow in. And, in allowing this life to happen to us we graciously accept the transformation and life that is awakening itself within us. Life and truth cannot be forced into us, it is something that finds its way into us, by creating the opening for it to exist. By being present to life, Ted understood that Robin wasn’t his soul mate, Barney committed to Robin, Marshall and Lily were able to move from the desire of dating to being parents. They are radically new versions of the same person that used to exist, by allowing the life around and within them to waken up.

This is the very thing that happens in spiritual transformation. By allowing the space within us to exist, that life will find its way into us. It’s a slow, and, often painful process, but, we are the dopplegangers of the person we were five years ago.

3 thoughts on “How I Met Your Mother and Spiritual Transformation

  1. Jason says:

    I love HIMYM. The interaction of the characters is so real that you have to give the show’s writers credit. I like your perspective on the character’s growth and how it applies to us. I know I’ve seen that in my own life. I just wish sometimes my growth could have a flash-forward without losing the time it takes for that kind of growth.

  2. great post and metaphor! Awesome clip – it’s the first I’ve ever seen of that show.

  3. Lem Usita says:

    It is the process of identity formation – creating the space to explore. It alsohas to do with fighting the resistence. http://wp.me/pvOjU-17P.

    Great post Mike. Growth is always painful, but so good.

Leave a Reply

