Sorry Owl City, I won’t be going with you to the Alligator Sky

If any of you listen to cheesy pop music like I do, you cannot escape my fellow Minnesota homegrown Owl City. For a few years, I have been filled with the cheerful melodies and catchy hooks of Adam Young’s musical project. In his most recent video, he takes us on a very metaphorical journey to the Alligator Sky, to which he says the song is about a group of people who happily leave this earth to enter a new place.

As a Christian, I simply cannot be in support of this very catchy song. As a Christian I look forward to the day when I can be fully immersed in the presence of God. Based on what I know about Jesus, he didn’t really seem to live or teach how to escape this world. Jesus seemed more interested less in getting me into heaven and more about how I can bring heaven into my current world. It’s like we have re-written the Lord’s prayer to say “Our Father who art in heaven, hollowed by thy name, may we go to heaven after we die, may we go to heaven where your will and way is done, unlike earth”. So even though the Kingdom of this earth is not my home and I foolishly play in it far more than I should, God is really calling me to make this earth the throne for his kingdom.

As a Christian, I don’t have to live in morbid fear of this earth. God has already promised me that his presence is near on this earth. And, when I walk through the valleys and the shadow’s of death, I don’t have to fear evil, because he walks along side me. Even in this darkness, I learn to embrace things like peace, justice and reconciliation. I get to enjoy the manifestation of God and God’s work here and now. This world doesn’t have to be a hopeless endeavor and environment. Even if the

Alligator Sky is the ultimate reality, I get to live out Jesus by being about my fathers business and bringing the Alligator Sky to earth. So, my resources, my time, my energy to help others experience the Alligator Sky.

My hope is today, that we don’t fear this earth and we are about our father’s business. That we may find the hope, joy, peace of our Father here and now, so we may finish the work Jesus began and the mission God claimed through Abraham of being a blessing to others. May we know that Alligator Sky is already present, and, we don’t have to leave to get there.

6 thoughts on “Sorry Owl City, I won’t be going with you to the Alligator Sky

  1. Rachel Perry says:

    I would have to agree. The “life sucks but then you go to heaven” message portrayed in this message and (sadly) believed (or at least lived out) by many today falls so far short of the glorious hope that we have in Christ Jesus. John 10:10 “The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.” Yes, we have an enemy who tries to steal our joy; who tries to steal our peace but we are “more than conquerers through Him who loves us. For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:37-39) These are but a few of the promises of God we can put our trust in for an abundant LIFE, both now and forever.

  2. Dave says:

    I think you mean hallowed be thy name, not hollowed… 🙂

  3. Csaba Hurton says:

    I agree with you when saying that Christians have the mission to bring down heaven but I think Owl City’s ‘Alligator Sky’ is more about our desire to be inside the Kingdom of God, in Heaven, and I think there is nothing wrong with longing to be there until we know that “we’ll never know what’s up ahead” at least at this part of our lives.

    For me, this song is a beautiful methaphor of the feeling that we sometimes wish not to be here but rather closer to the thing we call Heaven. It is quite a honest way of saying to God – I wish you would be here in your total presence. And for me, this song is unique and wonderful.

  4. t_plunk says:

    great post bro- reminds me of a book i’m reading ‘ the next christians ‘ by gabe lyons. (excellent read if you haven’t picked it up yet) we are called to be restorers here on earth, we’ve been personally invited to play a role in the Father’s design… otherwise we’d be raptured the moment we confessed our sin and surrendered our lives to Him. there is still great work to be done here!

  5. Mike says:

    Well, I don’t think that being a christian means that you shouldn’t support this song. I certainly don’t think that Adam Young is proposing that everyone has a death wish. Anyways there may be multiple interpretations to this song. It could be that he lost someone close to him “Where was I when the rockets came to life, and carried you away into the alligator sky” So the message of this song certainly isn’t to abandon all hope and go to the “alligator sky.” Any ways i think Adam Young can say more about this than I can. Just copy and paste the link below into your address bar above.

  6. Mike says:

    haha oops or you can just watch it and forget about copying and pasting

Leave a Reply

