Do you work to much?

Sometimes I think I work too much.

I am a full-time student.

I am a full-time employee.

I volunteer/work 30-40 hours a week amongst several organizations.

I write and network with people for about another 20-30 hours a week.

 

And, yet I am very faithful to have a counselor and a few older men who remind me that there are more important things in life than work or busyness. And, this reminder actually allows me to separated myself from being a student, employee, volunteer, writer/networker, and come back to do it happily.

I am also very blessed to have a few friends who tell me to put things down, smoke a cigar, go to a sporting event, or whatever we decide.

I think its easy to gain an identity from building “your empire”. You work hard to get ahead, which isn’t bad. You work hard to develop a name for yourself, which isn’t bad. But, when this becomes who you are, then it becomes bad.

I am God’s beloved.

I am Mike.

And, that’s enough.

 

Paula D’Arcy once said God comes in the shape of your life. God will come to in the midst of your work. God will come to you in the midst of your friends. God will come to you in the midst of what your life looks like. So many of us are too busy to even experience our own life, that we can’t embrace the experience of God. Without this, life will only be about building “our empire”.

You are you. And, that’s enough.

 

3 thoughts on “Do you work to much?

  1. I constantly struggle with balance. Balance between my job/my family/ my friends. I think your right when you say that “when this becomes who you are, then it becomes bad.” It then becomes not just about balance but about whats important. We spend too much time trying to “balance” when we should be asking whats worthy of my time. And that alone is up to each person.
    Above all I am constantly reminded of something my youth minister made us repeat over and over again when I was a kid, “I am a child of the Most High God.” When we understand this, it changes everything!
    Good thoughts man. Keep up the writing!

  2. Aaron says:

    Thank you Mike. TImely. Impactful. I’ll turn off the computer now.

    -Aaron

  3. Thank you for sharing this entry. I tend to overdo things as well and am not very good at saying “no”. So I end up stretching myself thin and wearing myself out. I so often forget God is not interested so much in my “doing” as He is in my “being”.

    Thanks for following on Twitter. Glad to connect, and may we both find joy and rest in being God’s beloved.

Leave a Reply

