Christians United Against Bad Music

If you are anything like me where you are a lover of music and arts, listening to bad music is a struggle. If you are like me as well, this bad music often becomes a form of great humor years after it is made. The ability to jokingly mock something, I have found, is one of the greatest way to connect people. Yesterday’s tweet/facebook status shows that I am not alone in this demise against bad Christian music. I would love it if you would share your least favorite CCM music song ever. Post a youtube link in the comments.

Enjoy all of the bad music.

19 thoughts on “Christians United Against Bad Music

  1. lynne says:

    Sandi Patty – “Love Will Be Our Home” – If you’d forgotten about it… I’m sorry to remind you. *blech!*

  2. “Soul Tattoo” Plus One.

  3. Sorry here’s the link.

  4. Gotta be “Carry Your Candle” GAAAAAaaahhh!!!

  5. But wait…. there’s also “Jesus is a Friend” by Sonseed… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7-NOZU2iPA8

    Barf bag optional.

  6. Unfortunately my favorite Christian music tends to come from the 1980s and early ’90s. For that genre I can be kind of old and cranky… “You call this new stuff CCM? You call this MUSIC? *huddles over MP3s of David Meece and Bryan Duncan*”

    So for this post you can pretend I posted practically any of the recent worship music by Michael W. Smith. I miss his pop years.

  7. breakfast by the newsboys. it’s horrible, simply horrible.

    i hope people haven’t followed christ simply so they can pass on and still have breakfast. 🙂

  8. Jeff Holton says:

    I’m sorry. I’ve seen Friends and Big House done live and they were almost palatable. Almost.

    But nothing beats this:

  9. ordinary (mostly) says:

    Confession: I own versions of both of the songs above.

    I find that, for the most part, I’ve simply let my old CCM music die a quiet death. I don’t think of it as bad. Rather, I don’t think of it at all.

    Question: Could anyone give examples of “good” CCM music? (i.e. You aren’t allowed to list U2. It has to be CCM.)

  10. It’s a tie between:

    Watch the Lamb (Daddy, Daddy!) by Ray Boltz

    and

    Christmas Shoes -ugh.

  11. brambonius says:

    I recommend the end times anthem of William Tapley… The worlds only catholic dispensationalist (I don’t even dare to link that)

  12. Drew says:

    Whoever said give an example of good CCM? Wow. Really?

    Anything by Steven Curtis Chapman.
    Jimmy Needham
    Matthew West
    Mark Schultz
    Phil Wickham
    Casting Crowns
    Sidewalk Prophets
    Anything by Tenth Avenue North
    Anything by Chris Tomlin
    Anything by Hillsong or Hillsong United
    (Does Christian Rap count too??)
    Lecrae
    FLAME
    Trip Lee
    Tedashii
    PRo
    Sho Baraka

    But as far as “bad music goes” you can’t hear a song in 2011 that was originally recorded in 1995 and say thats such a horrible song. It wasn’t in at that time. I was a huge fan of Audio Adrenaline, and loved big big house, but as I got older, obviously my taste changed, but at the time when it was new, it got me thinking about Heaven and was an entertaining song for a young boy to listen to.

  13. Peter Banks says:

    Here was my contribution a little while ago: http://banksyboy.blogspot.com/2011/02/appalling-ccm-songs-meme.html

    I rec’d some vigorous responses 😉

    PB

Leave a Reply

