The Disaster of Grace

This morning I found myself with a blown clutch and stranded in a Target parking lot. I found myself frustrated, thinking about money, irritated after I found out that my vehicle insurance policy had changed and I was not permitted road side insurance. After all the initial responses to the vehicle, I began cycling through my phone for someone to pick me up. After finding someone, my heart was encountered with grace. I began wondering why that was.
Grace is painful. When a person receives grace, it also begins with the fact that they have received the very thing that needs grace. In order for grace to be required, it also requires some burden, some pain, some death. Grace requires some form of burden, death, pain. The greater depths of burden, death and pain, the higher volume of grace.
This is the struggle for many of us in life. We cannot properly receive grace, God, because we have not yet learned to receive our own lives. Many of us don’t know how to receive grace because we have not yet learned how to receive our pain. We become trapped in a limited way of life. We have limited life, limited love and limited free will because we can only operate out of the limited space we live in. A space that has been deeply formed because it has not yet been transformed.
Until we learn to receive the burden, pain and death of life, the healing powers of the resurrection will also function in the limits that we allow in. This is the disaster of grace.

P.s- I’m blogging from my phone. So I apologize for potential errors.

3 thoughts on “The Disaster of Grace

  1. David says:

    Spot on, Mike. You may have read it already, but if not, you might appreciate “Job and the Mystery of Suffering” by Fr. Richard Rohr, OFM.
    Grace through pain doesn’t fit with the “winner’s theology” most humans seem to subscribe to. It took many years of running into walls for me to be open enough to learn otherwise. Great parable-post!

  2. Leya says:

    Sounds like you’ve been reading some Volf!
    Grace is such a difficult thing to give and receive. Perhaps because it can’t fully be given out of our own power. It always feels handed down in both a beautiful and humbling way. Just like receiving forgiveness, grace reminds us that we are not as self sufficient/independent as we often wish to view ourselves as.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  3. Angie says:

    A good way of understanding no matter how heart-breaking and painful our own grief may be~ God’s is even greater. That’s why we are able to connect to Him through it. There is no other way.

Leave a Reply

