How To Screw Up Relationships Pt. 3

Over the past six months, the most confronting words of Jesus come from the sermon on the mount where Jesus tells the people to let “their yes be yes and your no be no.” I have a deep-rooted conviction that life was not meant to be lived at a hectic pace. I also live in an equally strong conviction that relationships are everything. Over the past six months, opportunities have presented themselves for me to network, and converse with people I would have never thought possible. I, currently write around 3,000-5,000 words a day between blogging, journaling, and the book I am working on. With all of the networking I am doing, with all of the writing I am doing, when it comes to my friends, and other people who are engaged with me in my day-to-day life, I have not done the best at letting my yes be my yes.

When the renowned theologian Jurgen Moltmann calls Jesus, “the master of life”, I agree with him. Jesus knew things about life that shaped society like no other human being did. Jesus understood that something like keeping your yes, keeping your word, has powerful implications in the relationships you keep. When a person has learned how to balance their work, their personal needs, and their relational needs, it has a sort of authoritative power that is hard to comprehend. They have learned the balance between personal peace, social service, and human connection. They have learned how to be receive life, and give life.

I know from experience of being the person being constantly canceled on, and the person constantly canceling on others because of time tables, and personal exhaustion. A parent cannot properly say yes to their children without saying yes to themselves. One friend cannot abundantly say yes to one friend without accordingly saying yes to themselves. If we are not in tune with our body, mind, and soul, we cannot properly give these things in service to others. In our fast paced, work hard, and get a lot done world, it’s hard to be a good friend. It’s hard to be present to another human being. And, it’s easy to ruin relationships if we do not know when to say yes, and when to say no.

One thought on “How To Screw Up Relationships Pt. 3

  1. ~ calista ~ says:

    These three posts are right on the money. Each topic has been something I have been learning in the last few months as well. I appreciate your view and your transparency with this. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

