Do You Speak Christianese?

8 thoughts on “Do You Speak Christianese?

  1. roystus says:

    I know that we have a different vocabulary (due to our consciousness of God) than a lot of the world, but I think that “Christianese” essentially turns into a shibboleth. This video illustrates, in a funny way, how this can be alienating. As a Christian with a theater degree, I find myself actively avoiding Christianese, and turning toward a direct, colloquial style. I’ve never witnessed to someone if they stopped listening within the first 10 words.

    • Mike Friesen says:

      Unfortunately, I agree with you. I have a lot of non-Christian friends and recovering Christian friends and none of them will let me speak like that around them because it triggers everything they hate.

  2. Nice. Could use some cheesy music. 🙂

    Just actually started a blog on this very thing, How to Talk Evangelical (http://howtotalkevangelical.addiezierman.com/). Trying to explore these words that have become so second nature, so cliche, that we’ve forgotten what they were even supposed to mean. Redefining a faith that has turned to jargon. That kind of thing.

  3. Laurie M. says:

    I know this is humor, but it actually makes me feel pretty sad. All this codespeak (while occasionally useful) really adds up to a lot of vague language used to express what should be vibrant ideas and experiences. This kind of talk indirectly and unintentionally erects a barrier against open and honest communication, original thought, and creativity of language as well as leaving the uninitiated feeling like outsiders and the unbeliever completely at a loss.

  4. A funny video with a good point. Language covers a multitude of misunderstandings.

    What was most amazing for me was after binning language like this, later discovering that there was actually some truth in it.

    Not all of it, though.

  5. I loved the opening scene. I once did a twitter series on Christianese, I should, ahem, resurrect it!

Leave a Reply

