Don’t Suck Jesus Into Your Politics

4 thoughts on “Don’t Suck Jesus Into Your Politics

  1. I just had a friend ask me this morning, “who should we vote for?”, I turned to him and said, ” I’m not getting into that conversation, I don’t talk politics”. I am sending him a link to this.

    • Mike Friesen says:

      Tony,
      I am glad there are more people who get this. I think when we keep politics and God hand-in-hand, then we are not really following Micah 6:8, “No, O people, the Lord has told you what is good,
      and this is what he requires of you:
      to do what is right, to love mercy,
      and to walk humbly with your God.”
      I think people who combine politics can do the right, and merciful thing, but can we do politics while walking humbly with our God? That seems to me as a very private, noiseless, affair. Something that costs me in my own home. Doing what is right and merciful is a humanistic thing, but to do it humbly with God, in privacy, is where it becomes spiritual.

      • Benno Friesen says:

        So if you are totally committed to the love of Jesus, and you believe that “politics” is your calling, how do you handle that?

      • Mike Friesen says:

        Hey Uncle Benno,
        I would want to know what they mean by “politics”. I would never question the motive of the person, I would want to see how Jesus started social movement, and how historical Christian political action has shaped society. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

