Coffee & God (Zizek)

When I look around Christianity today, I see a lot of mediums used to be the instrument of God. I see people doing social justice in the name of God. I see people doing theology & philosophy in the name of God. I see politicians doing work in the name of God. But, I also people doing social justice because they’re humanists. I see people in the work of thought because they long for meaning or purpose. I see politicians who are clearly not Christians but want to serve their country. What separates the two that makes it so spiritual?

I wonder if God uses the medium of these things as a theoretical coffee. For people who long for God, social justice, thought, politics, becomes coffee with God. God uses these things as pure invitation to invite them into relationship with him. God offers coffee to these people and you may help some people in return but he is really inviting you into deeper relationship with him. Coffee is the crossover between the sacred and the profane.

Just an afternoon thought.

2 thoughts on “Coffee & God (Zizek)

  1. JD Zuluaga says:

    Precious thought, Mike.

Leave a Reply

