Forget About Your Pastors, Professors, And Leaders

For just one second, forget about your pastors, professors, and leaders and all they are teaching you. They are saying a lot of things at you (And, they’re probably good!) and learn to ask yourself, “what is my life saying to me?”

It seems that we are trained in how we are supposed to live life, that we are actually not living the life we are called into. So what would it look like if for a brief time, we stopped taking notes from the guru’s of life and took notes about our own life. How are you responding to criticism, failure, rejection, abandonment? Are you taking notes on all the things that allow you to experience love, peace, hope, and joy?

Your pastors, professors, and leaders are important, but are we listening to them, or have we found the True-self, the “not me but Christ who lives in me”. have we found the spirit, the voice within us that wants to change the world through love, peace, hope, and joy? Have we found our abundant life, or are we living the life we are told we’re supposed to live?

“Before I can tell my life what I want to do with it, I must listen to my life telling me who I am.”-Parker Palmer

3 thoughts on “Forget About Your Pastors, Professors, And Leaders

  1. blissphil says:

    Nice, nice, nice. Breathe and listen… I think I can do that.

  2. Andrew Mills says:

    I love this post. Also as a pastor maybe pastors shouldn’t be so quick to discern the will of God for people, but direct them to discover it themselves through their life. We should actually encourage others to listen to what their life is telling them.

    • Mike Friesen says:

      Thank you Andrew!
      I think you pastors carry such a heavy load on your shoulders. A great friend of mine is a pastor and he has told me that he believes that the pastor, or the sermon is a catalyst. And, to leave the results to God and them.

Leave a Reply

